Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 6 Cyl 5.9L HO Cummins Turbo Diesel; 4-Speed Automatic Trans 48RE; SLT Quad 4x4
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I owned an 05 Dodge Ram 2500 (6 Cyl 5.9L HO Cummins Turbo Diesel; 4-Speed Automatic Transmission 48RE; SLT Quad Cab 4WD) thats been giving me some issues with the front end. I swear I go through tie-rods parts too often. I replaced the outer tie rods a few months ago, had the truck aligned and thought everything was good. I realized some outer wear on my tires and decided to go and have the front end checked out to be told the inner tie-rods are worn to the pitman and also to steering damper. I am new to all these lingo, was thinking maybe the repair shop is trying to pull one on me. While doing some research on a more heavy duty tie=rods to purchase I came across a suggested 09 steering upgrade kits for 03-13 Ram 2500. Has anyone done this procedure and is it a difficult procedure, meaning can the average repair shop pull this off?
Would I have to change ball joints, stabilizer bars etc?
Also it was recommend the stabilizer bars and the intermediate steering shaft upper and lower be changed

Any input would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
54 Posts
I’ve owned a 2nd and a 4th gen, both had steering issues when I got them.

At a minimum, replace with OEM parts, I’ve heard aftermarket parts from brands we used to trust just don’t last in these HD trucks. Like, they’re wearing out in 25k.

This Mopar setup should last a while:'03-'12 Dodge Ram 2500/3500 T-Style Steering Linkage Kit

The synergy kit is considered the best fix, but they are twice as expensive: 03-12, 4WD Dodge Ram Synergy Heavy-Duty Steering Kit

No reason why a regular repair shop can’t install these. Regarding the ball joints, I would check to see if they’re bad. Just need to jack up each tire and do the wiggle/rocking test. Lots of videos on YouTube showing what to look for.

·
1,273 Posts