Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

first time diesel owner

684 Views 9 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  HumminsCummins
just bought my first diesel truck.96 12v 307,000 miles,stock. can someone tell me if a banks power pack kit would be best for towing? thanks:confused013
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
As a newbie myself, I hesitate to give advice. but here goes: If your truck is an auto trans, do NOTHING until you have upgraded at least the TC and valve body. Banks seems to be known for very high quality stuff but very pricey. There are some very basic mods you can do to your 12v to achieve the same result for pennies on the dollar. There is a wealth of great info on this forum so I would suggest punching some key words into the search function and prepare to learn! HTH

· Registered
95 Posts
First of all, welcome to CF! There are alot of people here who know alot about your truck. Im pretty new here too and have learned lots. Banks is apparently expensive and usually inspires lots of comments. I have a 24 valve and have a big hoss box in it and it cost about 425 for an extra 70 hp + torque. I picked it because I can now pull my trailer up a hill and not get tired doing it, even just alot better for daily driving. Problem is Im getting hooked to puting wrenches on things, I now understant the fun of a turbo thats spooling and might be interested in a bit of smoke. My big hoss might be forsale in a few months or I might start a thread entitled "can you stack a banks big hoss" or something like that. What Im trying to say, is collect the information, put the goods in to fit your situation and as it changes HAVE FUN with it!

· Registered
15 Posts
yes it is auto trany.what is tc,and valve body.? thanks