Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've always been a Ford guy iv had them all until the new body style.
But I'm in the market for a new truck and I came across what I think is a good deal on a 2014 mega cab dually. A bit more truck then I need but it sure is nice!
I'm a mechanic at an independent shop and work on everything. I've worked on alot of powerstroke and duramax trucks but not alot of rams , but I also work on tractors and dump trucks so I know cummins have ssues too. Anyone made the switch and regretted it?
what kind of issues have you had with these trucks, I should potentially be looking for that I wouldn't think of?
How do the transmissions hold up ? Head gaskets issues? Or overall pretty stout truck any input it appreciated on

·
SuperModerator
10,412 Posts

·
Premium Member
184 Posts
I enjoy the straight six engines more than the v8's. I had a '70's Ford Econoline with a 6/300 and stick. Nothing like these Cummins, but nice.

·
Registered
4,733 Posts
The trans hold up just fine, so do the head gaskets. you can beat on a stock Cummins hard and it will keep asking for more.

its added HP and tunes that kills trans and blow HG's, like any other vehicle out there.

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
What year truck and what transmission are you looking for? There are a lot of differences. Also, BAD tuning and a stupid driver can kill anything!
Bad Tuning is a major killer of HGs even if the driver thinks he is being conscientious.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Its a 2014 mega cab has 170k but extremely clean and appears to have been taken care of

·
Registered
1,724 Posts