Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First time poster, but I've been lurking for awhile. I just bought a 95 2500 4x4. It's not my first cummins though. I have a 49 Willys Pickup with a 4bt, but I haven't done much to it, so I guess you could say I'm still a cummins newb.

In WA state I can't transfer the title into my name until it passes emissions. I brought it in after a good run on the freeway and it failed opacity at 48 when the limit is 40.

I thought easy enough I'll just adjust the starwheel, but that didn't seem to have any effect on the smoke. It is now adjusted all the way back (towards cab) and it still smokes about the same.

If I do the snap test it blows a pretty good black smoke right off idle which is immediately follow by equal white smoke. Is this any indication of any problems?

· Registered
693 Posts
opacity???

losen the bolts on the AFC and slide it all the way back till you get the test doneit will be a dog and take forever to build boost but should be smoke free.

· Registered
9,910 Posts
also try backing off on the 'smoke screw' at the back of the afc, that will allow the AFC arm to be pushed farther back by the spring.

How many miles on the truck? could be a crapped out injector, in which case its likely that you will not be able to get it to pass.

· Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
also try backing off on the 'smoke screw' at the back of the afc, that will allow the AFC arm to be pushed farther back by the spring.
losen the bolts on the AFC and slide it all the way back till you get the test doneit will be a dog and take forever to build boost but should be smoke free.
After looking at the diagrams of the p7100, won't those both do the same adjustment?

opacity???
Opacity - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Basically how dark it is.

How many miles on the truck?