Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. This is my first post. I just bought a new 2019 Ram 2500 Laramie diesel 4x4 crew cab on 2/21/2020. This is my first diesel truck. I am not a mechanic. According to my wife, I am not mechanically inclined.

The sticker does not state that my truck has an engine block heater. However, I read somewhere that all Cummins 6.7L I6 engines have the heater preinstalled and just needs a cord attached. The salesman said since it is not stated, it does not have it. I used the vin# and tried to delve a bit more deeply but did not find any further information.

Is it possible the truck has the engine block heater and if so how or where should I look for it. If it does have it, is the cord something I can attach myself?

·
Registered
233 Posts
Honestly I can't say for sure.

Reactions: Electrojake

·
Premium Member
528 Posts
First look at the window sticker. It will say if you have it. If not there is no cord. You will need to install the cord as it's location is next to the Oil Filter. There is a Black Cap covering it.

·
Premium Member
158 Posts
Yes, Cummins installs the heater in every block. You just need a cord (ebay will work). It is behind the oil filter and little tricky to get to. Next time you get the oil changed, have the cord attached.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Reactions: Huskerz1

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
First look at the window sticker. It will say if you have it. If not there is no cord. You will need to install the cord as it's location is next to the Oil Filter. There is a Black Cap covering it.