Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 97 2500 with a auto. trans. I am getting different stories on what fluids to run in the eng. and trans. One told me to run the mystic jt8 synthetic blend, another told me that i could run any oil as long as it was 15w40. In the trans, i had a dodge dealer tell me to run ATF4. My owners manual says to run ATF2 or equivalent (mercon or dextron III) . If there is a tech. that knows exactly what fluids to run, please let me know.

·
Registered
11 Posts
I'm no expert but you should definitely run a diesel specific oil, I believe most everyone is running 15W-40. Rotella is a great oil!

·
Registered
93 Posts
I run Rotella 15/40 and I have had no oil related issues. I also run Dodge Trans fluid atf4 and my trans went 265K before the rebuild.
I change my oil every 6K, I do not drive under 15 miles when first heading out.
Trans, I completely flush 2 times a year and 1 time a year I change my trans filter.
The guy who rebuilt my trans stated that he has never seen an transmission as clean as mine and if the O/D bearing wouldn't of gone out who kows how long the trans would of went.
Hope this helps you a little.

·
Premium Member
16,224 Posts
I've used Dextron III in my auto for 240,000 trouble free miles.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think you see my problem! The last two replies i got, one uses atf4 the other uses dextron III. These are different fluids. I dont know if the year model makes a difference or not.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
I think you see my problem! The last two replies i got, one uses atf4 the other uses dextron III. These are different fluids. I dont know if the year model makes a difference or not.
If ATF+2 is the equivilant to dextron 3 then ATF+4 supercedes it. If in doubt read your dipstick:thumbsup:

·
Registered
24 Posts