Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first diesel so I am VERY new to this. Would someone explain what the egr & dpf delete is, and also anything else that I should or shouldnt do to this truck LOL.
Ive got a Gibson superflow muffler as well as their new Triangle flow 6" tip waiting to go on so I guess I better learn what Im doing! Thanks for any help guys!

·
Washington Chapter Vice President
5,055 Posts
The Deletes Eliminate the most harmful and issue causing parts on these trucks. The DPF is a filter in the exhaust that catches the Soot and burns it out by using an extra injection pulse in the exhaust stroke of the engine to create the needed heat (1400*+). This is part of the MPG issues. The EGR recirculates the Exhaust and pumps it into the intake, causing a reduction in NOx emissions. The problem is that it also pumps large amounts of soot into the engine causing numerous Turbo issues as well as increased EGTs. Removing these items is helpful due to the fact that you will use less fuel (no regen), no rising oil level (more Regen related issues), less soot related issues with the turbo (almost no issues) and More HP/TQ to boot.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks alot guys. SO if you use the deletes then it would make the truck blow more smoke out of the pipe then correct? Guess Ill research now how to do the deletes as it seems its a must for these 6.7L's. Im falling in love with this diesel truck,,,Im a hardcore Mustang man and know more than the law should allow about them,,,but this Diesel thing is a new ballgame!!!!

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
SO if you use the deletes then it would make the truck blow more smoke out of the pipe then