Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
595 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the expense of sounding like a newbie (because I am new to the 6.7 CTD), is it possible to just do the EGR, DPF, and cooler deletes without the use of a tuner AND be code free, or are the tuners like the XRT, Smarty, and Black Maxx part of the simulators, which are the reason the engine computer can remain code free?

My guess is there are simulators out there, or perhaps a guy can make his own with resistors, to keep the stock computer happy. Are not many of the simulators nothing more then a resistor in a plug?

The reason I ask is I am expecting an 09 truck, which is built after the March cut off date for the locked computers. To be honest, I think I would be perfectly happy with a stock setting on the engine management comp, if I can just get rid of the emissions equipment, so to purchase a tuner would kind of be money wasted, unless it is necessary for the sake of being code free.

Until someone finds a way around the locked computers, I will not be able to dial it up anyway.

·
Premium Member
10,370 Posts
Yow will get a CEL and possibly codes by doing the EGR delete.

You can make your sims for the DPF delete to keep the truck from going into regen and there is a DIY link floating around which I'm sure one of the guys will point it out.

James
RSD

·
Registered
595 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies. So when a guy orders a complete EGR/DPF delete kit, are the simulators that come with the kit just a couple male plugs with the resistors soldered to the pins? Or is the simulator a function of the tuner?

·
Registered
34 Posts