Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So its already done, but I am staying at an airBnB for work and had to preform my EGR cleaning. This is my first time doing so and it was done late because I bought the truck at 72k miles and I guess the previous owner didn't feel the need to do so before trading it in.

So I rinsed out all the soot before and after letting it soak over night and to be honest I wasn't expecting that much. But this home is in an HOA and i don't want to get caught flat footed if they come at me with EPA regulations. Is it illegal to wash the soot in to the earth? Or down the storm drains?

·
Registered
875 Posts
Oh my, Yes, there are strict restrictions on what you can't put down storm and sanitary sewer drains. Your chance of being detected, caught, and prosecuted though are about the same as the discovery that Martians brought Covid-19 to Earth.

·
Registered
665 Posts
I would not worry about it. Its soot. No HOA is going to come up with a test kit and send samples to the EPA. Dump it, wash it down with water and be done with it.

·
Registered
5,589 Posts
all you did was recycle, just like putting used motor oil into the ground, where it can't from! 😉

·
Registered
665 Posts
What year is your truck that is requires egr cleaning?
True. I believe the EGR cleaning was only on the 07-12 (pre DEF) trucks. However, I did read on Genos Garage site that an EGR cleaning was recommended by Cummins on 2013+ around the 200k mark.

·
Registered
13,693 Posts
Its a 2016, part of my 67,500 service.
There is no EGR cleaning required on 13+ trucks, not part of the 67,500 mile service, that is only for the CCV change anymore. It is no longer listed in the maintenance schedule in the owner's manual.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
What? Everything I read said I had to do it. The owners manual was not in the truck when I bought it. So I researched it myself and found nothing about that.....