Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to owning a road going diesel so excuse me if this is a dumb question. I've owned several diesel tractors (including the current Kubota SU3300) but none of them had the EPA garbage on them. I know doing a delete would take care of this "problem" but when I bought the 2012 2500 Laramie CC last week, they offered the extended warranty to me which takes it bumper to bumper for 100,000/6 years, so I did it. I don't want to do anything to loose that. My thinking is that since diesels produce lots more carbon/soot when working hard, being easy on the throttle when taking off from standstill or speeding up to a higher cruising speed will not only save some fuel but will produce less carbon the DPF will have to catch. This should require less regen which in turn will also cause less fuel to be burned. Am I missing anything?

I also have an unrelated question. Anyone know if the grill from a 2013 will fit the 2012? I really like the look of the mesh inserts on some of the 2013.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I'm new to owning a road going diesel so excuse me if this is a dumb question. I've owned several diesel tractors (including the current Kubota SU3300) but none of them had the EPA garbage on them. I know doing a delete would take care of this "problem" but when I bought the 2012 2500 Laramie CC last week, they offered the extended warranty to me which takes it bumper to bumper for 100,000/6 years, so I did it. I don't want to do anything to loose that. My thinking is that since diesels produce lots more carbon/soot when working hard, being easy on the throttle when taking off from standstill or speeding up to a higher cruising speed will not only save some fuel but will produce less carbon the DPF will have to catch. This should require less regen which in turn will also cause less fuel to be burned. Am I missing anything?