Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm brand new to the diesel world, just bought my first one and of course a cummins. Amazing site by the way! A lot of great advise. I was just wondering if I could get some help figuring out what I have. on door it says manufacture date 2/04. Do i have the early 04 or the 04.5?
Thanks in advance! J.P

·
Registered
379 Posts
on the driver side of your valve cover...if the HP rating is not 325HP, it's an early 04 :)

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh ok. Yeah I looked there the other day and it says advertised HP 325. so means i got the 04.5? I appreciate it!!

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the help. so sig should be 04.5 like yours?

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
there ya go, perfect advice, by this time in a trucks life it is one of the few reliable ways to tell..... so many trucks have other items like kitty's that run away..... sticker on the valve cover is the way to go. other way to tell unfortunately is lousy fuel mileage :(

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I appreciate it alot y'all.
I was also wondering what would be the frst steps for some performance mods to do to my truck. but i cant go crazy due to not enough money for a new tranny yet. any suggestions would help.

·
Registered
379 Posts
That all depends if he has an auto or not :) I get 18-20 (hand calc) in town with my 6 speed...and I'm not a grandpa driver.

there ya go, perfect advice, by this time in a trucks life it is one of the few reliable ways to tell..... so many trucks have other items like kitty's that run away..... sticker on the valve cover is the way to go. other way to tell unfortunately is lousy fuel mileage :(

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
got an auto. but dont know too much about it all

·
hydraulic lifter crew
12,296 Posts
I appreciate it alot y'all.