Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just bought a new dodge, 08 2500 4x4 auto, quad cab sport. I am not impressed with the mileage as most am getting anywhere from 15-17mpg on the highway (14.7l/100kms for the canadian brothers) and although not terribly aweful with the proce of diesel anywhere from 1.14/- 1.29/L I definatly want something better. Anyways....one of the diesel shops here says they will install the dpf delete with a "chip" to eliminate the codes, when they get them in stock later this month..blahblahblah. I am a mechanic and would rather do it myself like most everything else on my vehicles and started asking what the kits consisted of and after being given vague answers the guy told me they had never really done one yet. LMAO All they had ever done was research haha.

So my questions are, where is the best place to order from, preferably canadian supplier due to border delays? What is the "chip" to eliminate soft codes? is it something to plug into the OBD port like some of the older programmers for GM's? And most relevant what do the kits consist of? This is my first diesel truck and typically I am a GM guy but could not stand the looks of the 900 platform gm/chevs and have always loved the looks of the dodge and the cummins is always been a kick motor. Otherwise I LOVE MY TRUCK. I am also thinking about getting the edge w/juice programmer. One last question has anyone done just the dpf delete and figured out manually the mileage?

My mileage calculations are always done by myself and I have found that when reset at fill times, they are pretty accurate. When most of my driving is on the highway it actually reads better then the overhead reads, but in the city is WAY worse. just my two cents extra.

Thanks for any input and I hope to be a contributor to this forum as much as a reader.

·
Registered
475 Posts