Cummins Diesel Forum banner

DIY 98.5-2002 Tips and Tricks...post em here - NC

71K views 45 replies 24 participants last post by  Diesel-Dan 
#1 ·
Hey Guys!

WELP as a former mechanic, I LOVE to work on my own stuff. I currently have a 2001 Dodge that i can’t keep my hands off of. What i want to start here is a Tips and Tricks Thread that will help some one of the same era truck get something done faster. Everyone knows short cuts that work without compromising the end result of the task being preformed. These are the tips/tricks I want on here! NOTE: this is only for the 2nd Gen 24V. Ill start others for the 12V and 3rd Gen. Please try to stay on Topic on this one. Thanks! :peelout

#2 ·
Ill start:

You can use the Alternator nut to turn the engine over. Only bad thing is that you can only go one direction. If you have a manual Trans, make sure its out of gear....its real hard to turn the engine over with it stuck in 1st!!! :fist: Not that i have ever done that..........

#3 · (Edited)
Here is a cool tool to add to you pile...

HIGH VOLUME FUNNEL

Go out and buy a quart of brake fluid at Wal-Mart (SuperTech Brand) then use the brake fluid up doing brake fluids changes etc...

Cut the bottom off the bottle. Now the threaded neck fits into the top of the valve cover and screws in. Now you got a HIGH VOLUME funnel for reloading the mighty cummins with fresh engine oil. Other nice thing is that the funnel will not fall out of the valve cover on you...:thumbsup

I've got a few more trick on my web site too...
MOPAR1973MAN's MOPAR SITE

#4 ·
Mopar1973Man said:

HIGH VOLUME FUNNEL

Go out and buy a quart of brake fluid at Wal-Mart (SuperTech Brand) then use the brake fluid up doing brake fluids changes etc...