Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well this is my first post, I've been searching the site for some time after I purchased my truck. Very helpful forum. I'm a heavy equipment mechanic, mainly working on cat. equipment and mack trucks but i love my cummins! I know the new 3rd gen's using the CP3 pump have multiple injection events to quiet the motor down. I have been toying with the idea of useing a hydrogen setup. Most poeple say that it is not worth it, but the technology is there and will work imo. But does anyone know at what rpm the cp3 goes to a single injection event instead of two? The pilot injection would just burn off the hydrogen with no benefit in mileage due to no effect on the main injection process. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
680 Posts
The injection events are controlled by the ecm. 03/04 trucks have 2 events(pre & main), 04.5 and up have 3 events(pre, main & post). They are for meeting emmision standards.

I am not sure you could time the spray to match the injection timing as it's constantly changing.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·