Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
For you long term inhabitants of this forum, please forgive me for reposting something that's probly been posted umpteen times over the years.

But, as a newbie, I wouldn't have even known to do this if someone hadn't taken the time to post it again.

182k on a newly acquired 08 with no service history and of course I'm going over it with the proverbial fine tooth comb.

Today I cleaned the MAP sensor. And a dirty old thing it was! Looked just about like nothing more than a lump of soot.

15 minutes and most of a can of carb spray and a little careful & gentle picking at some stubborn chunks inside the outer shell with a needle point pick and it's good to go.

Curious to see if it makes much difference like some posts have said.

For those of you that haven't checked yours, it takes a 15 torx. It looks like it's right out in the open, but there's enuf stuff in the area right where it would be nice to have your hand for manipulating the torx to get the screw out and back in. Of course it wouldn't do to mount the thing on the front of the intake! That wouldn't be any fun to make it easy.

Got my Mopar heater cord on today, too. Popped off all the air intake tubing from the box to the turbo in one piece, then got out my handy dandy large pliers and went to work. Of course the line from the oil filter head to the turbo was perfectly placed to be in the way (I think the engineers do that on purpose and then probly chuckle about it).

That plastic cap on the block heater was sorta tight but you just gotta be 10% smarter and 10% more stubborn than things like that, then you win.

Being an oem Mopar cord, it even came with 2 plugs for (Mopar, of course) battery blankets! Might come in handy when I get settled in WY.

Once I got the intake tubing off of the turbo, I saw an oil smudge on the turbo inlet opposite of where the CCV vent tube comes into the air inlet.