Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I have been lurking the forums, absorbing everything I can for a few weeks when I decided to look into Fummins swap for my next horse trailer hauler. Little bit of background about me, I come from a 4x4 rock crawling background. I have some mechanical experience, just not diesel or truck/hauler experience and engineering background, do not mind tearing into stuff and figuring it out. I tried asking around in my local community and I just came up empty handed. I was wondering if someone here has gone through this process before and would be willing to provide me with some insight. I've been gobbling up as much info as I can from this forum regarding fummins swaps.

I am in the market for a new horse trailer hauler, will not be a DD, however, we will make 7-10 long distance trips during the year. I was originally going to do my own rebuild and swap, while I was looking for blown up PSD 6.0s or 6.4s I ran across this build: It is a 2001 F350 Fummins married to a ZF6 with a few upgrades, current owner claims 350-400hp (I will add the list of modifications from the ad at the end in lieu of a signature as I don't own the truck yet)

This truck runs strong according to the seller. I am going to have it checked by a diesel mechanic for overall health (basic health check that can be done in an hour or two), however, I wanted to know what I should look for specifically in these swaps in terms of usual mistakes, "cheap fixes" people tend to do, mistakes that are easily made on swaps and anything else you think I should look for/ask. The wiring, worries me a bit, not a full spaghetti/confetti job, but it leaves a lot to be desired.