Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im kinda new to the cummins thing and i just got a 95 12v to start bulding up and it has 261,000 miles do you guys think that i well need to rebuild the bottom end when i tear into it?? Also it already has 50 horse injectors and a #5 fuel plate and tips for me?

·
Premium Member
395 Posts
Short answer No

Long answer comes after you tell us what you want to do with it.

KO

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I want to get a bigger turbo for it a i see that ATS makes a new replacement head for it so ill do that and put studs in it. I just want to replace a few things and start racing it i dont know where to start

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
And since im on this site i have been reading about guys tuning the injection pump and taking out there fuel plate so i might do that as well but i want gauges first

·
Premium Member
395 Posts
Unless you are going for a 5k RPM turnin' Truck puller or you have bad oil pressure or knocking.....
You'll be fine.
Get your gauges and get some baselines before going any farther.

KO

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok cool thanks any tips about that injection pump do you just take the fuel plate out or do you need to do a few other things first?

·
Premium Member
395 Posts
I like to tune with my fuel plate, I tow alot so running no plate isn't an option for me.

Someone else will post about it I'm sure, shortly.

KO

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ok thanks for the info

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Whats done to your trans and is it auto or manual, if its still stock you should at the least get a convertor and vb and then add more power, being that it already has injectors and a 5 plate it may have already been upgraded or youve just been lucky

·
Registered
39 Posts