Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you tell if you have low boost pressure? I was told a fuel issue I seem to be having is that. It's not up on the governor and is very sluggish. Any ideas on sensors or modules to troubleshoot?

·
Registered
435 Posts
Do you have a boost gauge and if so what are the numbers your seeing?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No boost gauge or any gauges at all. I'm not into all the programmers or billy bolt on stuff. For the size of trailer I pull (36' enclosed gooseneck) it works fine. If I were to put all bolt on stuff on it that would give more to worry about. There's a good diesel shop close by to take it to their closed today though. So I was looking for ideas from some diesel owners or mechanics. I'm new to diesels so it's frustrating when you can't diagnose it like a gasser.

BTW:
05' cr 5.9 Crew cab long bed 3500
100% stock

·
Registered
937 Posts
Gauges are a good investment regardless of if you have tuners or not.

In the mean time check all your plumbing from the intake > turbo > intercooler > intake horn...check all hose clamps and connections for leaks.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks geezir and cummins hd. I agree to a point on the gauges being needed. I wouldn't know what I'm looking at anyway, I'm sure it would explain though. As far as checking all the stuff you told me ive done that so far everything seems to be tight. I happend to catch a diesel mech and he got time to look at it wednesday so I'll wait till then. Hopefully it won't hurt to much on the truck or pocket. Geezir, what do you recommend on gauges?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ok, I'm sold on the gauges. If I were to get them, which ones would be of more need? Also cummins hd, auto meter says the mechanical meters are temporary only. With that being said, now what? Will I have to get a post mount for them?

·
Registered