Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

big power questions...

625 Views 11 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  drunk on diesel
First off, Pardon my ignorance I am new to diesels...

So I now have added Twins to my truck. While the twins I chose are heavy hitting twins I now am curious what things I should look out for so I don't POP my motor. Besides the obvious oil changes, high EGT's and over boosting what other ways can I create damage to my motor? Meaning is there any other guage to watch or area of weakness to look at?

Thanks in advance
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
14,163 Posts
these engines are very strong... you have to try to kill a 12v or a 2nd gen 24v... but it's easy to kill a common rail if you're not vigilant...

the main thing I can tell you is to pay attention to how it runs and to keep an eye out for anything abnormal! if you get hard starting or missing or notice some white smoke out the tailpipe where there wasn't any before, check the injectors! that's what will kill your engine...

doesn't matter if you're making 300hp or 700hp... the engine will take the power, but if you've got a hung injector, you'll destroy the engine, and it can happen if the truck is bone stock or highly modified!

drive it, enjoy the heck out of it, but pay attention to it, and it'll treat you right ;)

· Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
these engines are very strong... you have to try to kill a 12v or a 2nd gen 24v... but it's easy to kill a common rail if you're not vigilant...

the main thing I can tell you is to pay attention to how it runs and to keep an eye out for anything abnormal! if you get hard starting or missing or notice some white smoke out the tailpipe where there wasn't any before, check the injectors! that's what will kill your engine...