Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone has forked over the money for one of these units. I believe to be around $3000. If my math and assumptions are correct it could pay for itself in fuel cost savings.

15000 mi a year divided by 15 mpg at $4 a gal equals $4000.

divided by 18 mpg I hope to get with overdrive unit would be $3333

So it would take about 4.5 yrs to pay for itself. Maybe sooner if fuel prices keep going up.

·
Registered
2,082 Posts
yea they are expensive but they are super nice. if you plan on havin truck for a while it'll definitely pay for itself and the motor will run where it wants to at 70 mph. it's an investment worth lookin into if you got a fat pocket.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No fat pocket but good credit. I drive a truck for a living and when I drive my dodge on interstate I want to shift again because the rpms are so high.

·
Premium Member
1,681 Posts
I never really checked how much difference mine made. I didnt take that many trips with it that I wasnt pulling a trailer. wish I had better info.

·
Registered
882 Posts
I have looked into Gear Vendors a couple times and I always shy away for 2 reasons. Cost and service intervals. The 5000 mile oil change recommendation is just hard for me since I run on avg 12,000 -15,000 a month. Myself I am thinking of just going to 3.42 gears instead.

·
Registered
10,349 Posts
I want one for a couple reasons.. One the reduced rpm's in 6 over, and the better ratio for mountain towing with 5th over... With the 6 speed I haven't felt the need for 3rd or 4th over.

·
Registered
68 Posts