Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wonderin if anyone had tried supercharging their cummins at all?

I work on alot of twin charged detroit diesels here in the army. Let me tell ya, a giant holset feeding a roots style blower on a 736 C.I. V8 diesel, just a beast.

Could be different. You know, the holset feeding a little procharger PS or something like that, some exta piping i guess but not all that bad.

I see where this could seem redundant being that the turbo does the high RPM work and the diesel itself does all it needs to down low therefor not needing a a broad power band blower but hey, who knows.

·
Registered
129 Posts
The only detroit I have seen in the military with a supercharger was one that was 2 stroke.

I am a heavy equipment mechanic in the Air Force.
The supercharger is what feeds the engine. Those motors only have exhaust valves. The supercharger feeds the chamber with air and fuel when the piston is below the intake ports. The piston compresses. Bang and down goes the piston. When the piston is below the ports the the exhaust valve opens and the super charger pushes in air and the bad air goes out. The exhaust valve closes and the piston compresses again. But a supercharger isnt 100% effecent. But a turbo is. Its using wasted power of exhaust to spin it. Why not just us do twins?

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's the detroit in the HEMMTT's. I'm a wheeled vehicle mechanic myself.

Don't think the pics gonna work.

Just an idea. Maybe some backyard wrencher out there has done the combo.

·
Registered
99 Posts
i beleive the super het is blown and turboed

·
Registered
161 Posts