Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
any one mixing fuel with waste oil. I have been doing it now for a couple of months and all systems seem ok. Im at a 50/50 mix here in the south. any one else??
thanks

·
Rescue Tower
10,827 Posts
So how are you filtering this WMO? What about your fuel filtration.

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
Maybe, maybe I might try it if I had a centrifuge. But probably not. I like my injectors.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm asking if anyone else is doing it and I'm not recommending it to anyone...lol

Shainer, i filter it first threw two layers of denim cloth then pump it threw a two micron filter..

·
Registered
71 Posts
I use to do it when I had a 7.3 non turbo Ford. I would go get used automatic tranny fluid from some shops. It was pretty dirty looking, so it probably had some old engine oil in it. I would dump this into a 50 gal drum that I put an air fitting on it,and a hose fitting. I would pressurize the drum to 5-7psi and run the output hose to an old AMSOIL cartridge bypass filter that had a new cartridge in it. The filter was a 5 micron. The output of the filter went to another drum which collected the clean oil. I would put 8 gal of this in with 8 gal of diesel. I had 16 gal tanks on that Ford.

Ran like a champ. I got 260,000 mile out of the original injector pump. Many of my buddies replace their injector pumps every 80k or so. When I had it replaced the dealer could not believe I got that many miles out of the pump.

Now I have not tried this on the RAM. Our Cummins' run a lot higher pressure and have tighter tolerances in that injector pump and injectors.

Theoretically it should work, just make sure you really filter that oil good. Run it through a 5 micron filter then have 2 micron fuel filter on your truck.

Let us all know how you do.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #6