Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just bought a 97 with 268,xxx miles on it all of a sudden today my turbo started whining then i had no oil pressure so i shut it down on the side of the road and noticed a massive amount of straight engine oil spewing out of my coolant overflow tank what caused this? :confused013:

·
Registered
384 Posts
My guess is head gasket

Reactions: 1997 12valve

·
Registered
33 Posts
Agreed:doh:

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

thanks guys im new to the diesel scene and this is a first for me ive never seen anything like this on a gasser i just hope my turbo is ok!!!!!! is started to whine pretty bad right before i noticed my oil pressure loss

·
Registered
4,118 Posts
kinda pissed!!!!!! i bought this truck thursday what a nightmare!!!!!!!!
if you got it not but 3 days ago i'd be going to the person i got it from going WTF!!!

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
oh i did n he was like oohhhh sorry cant help ya now im stuck with a truck i cant use cuz i can not afford a head gasket AND a turbo!!!!!!!!

·
I DONT BELIEVE IT!
1,728 Posts
if you got it not but 3 days ago i'd be going to the person i got it from going WTF!!!
Its not the original owners fault , Gotta pay to play , Thats the chance you take buying a used vehicle :spank::thumbsup:

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
yea i agree that it is a gamble but even if he told me hey it needs a head gasket i still would have bought it but hey it could have just went i mean when i got it it had a fueling issue and had been sitting for a month or so i guess ya never know it just sux that i prolly gotta buy a turbo and if he knew the gasket was bad he coulda saved me the turbo expense

·
Registered
343 Posts
Just think you can do the head gskt yourself and throw some studs in there at the same time, and should be able to find a used turbo for a hundred bucks. great learning experience.

·