Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is my first time on here so if this is in the wrong area I apologize.

Long story short I replaced all 6 injectors and the crossover tubes. I followed all the torque sequences to the T except for the fuel lines from the rail ( I can't get my torque wrench onto them ).

I fired my truck up and it did its typical idle after new injectors and then cleaned up. I drove the truck and notice the rail pressure won't build and it started sputtering like it would die. Once home it idled the same way.

This morning I fired it up and it idled fine at first but then started sputtering/surging again.

I see no visible fuel leaks and I have no idea where to even begin diagnosing this. Any help would be very appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,504 Posts
What year is your truck? Why did you replace the injectors to start with? What injectors did you buy for the replacements?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What year is your truck? Why did you replace the injectors to start with? What injectors did you buy for the replacements?
I have an 03. I replaced them due to white smoke/rough idle and hard starts. They were tested and failed. I replaced them with 50% injectors which were the size i had in there originally. Premco is the company I bought them from

·
Premium Member
2,504 Posts
I have an 03. I replaced them due to white smoke/rough idle and hard starts. They were tested and failed. I replaced them with 50% injectors which were the size i had in there originally. Premco is the company I bought them from
Hate to tell you this but there are reputable dealers for injectors and not so reputable. I would guess you got some cheap bad injectors. Reason everyone here says to get new bosch injectors or BBI injectors.

·
Registered
2,480 Posts
With their reman injectors? Quick search of the forum shows people have had many issues with them.