Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, I recently purchased a 96 dodge 3/4 ton with 110k on it. It seems a little doggy when driving normal at higher rpms. Last weekend I pulled an empty trailer and I could barely pull it 60! I had to hold it to the floor the whole time and it wouldn't rev up and wouldn't gain anything. I'm thinking its a loss of fuel at high rpms but I'm no expert. Also, shouldn't the transmission kick down when going 50-60 so i can gain some rpms? The guy I bought it from said that someone told him it needed a lift pump, do you agree? Also, he had the tps sensor replaced, could this need adjusting? Any ideas on this would be greatly appreciated since I have never worked on these before and I know it shoul dbe a pulling beast. The mileage also is poor at around 12 mpg. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,659 Posts
You should first get some gauges, specifically a boost gauge and an egt gauge. It's just about impossible to troubleshoot the symptoms you're having without info from those two gauges. Right now, possibilities (in no particular order) would be wastegate stuck open, afc housing misadjusted, plugged fuel filter, plugged prefilter screen, weak lift pump, slipped timing...you get the idea.

I hate to not have a helpful answer for you, but we really do need the readings from those two gauges first to be able to really tell you anything.

·
Registered
2,081 Posts
If it starts and runs ok then your symptoms sound like an AFC failure. Is your truck a CA model with an EGR valve? If it has an EGR valve then the AFC fittings can get plugged up with soot. It's easy to test. Remove the AFC, cover the hole with something to keep oil from splashing out, and go for a test drive. If the AFC is the problem it will smoke a lot and have a lot of power. If the AFC is not getting boost then the foot does not move out of the way so you have very limited throttle.