Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, Just looking for some direction on the new truck I bought. It's a 91 intercooled b5.9-160hp stock motor with 250000mi on it and Im going to put it in my 72 chevy c20. Im going take it down to the block and start fresh with it. I would like to get ALL of the hp I can out of it. Any help would be great because Im new to the cummins and new to the forum. thanks

·
1ST GEN MODERATOR
16,269 Posts
What are your plans with the truck. That makes a big decision on what you can do with the engine.

Is this going to be a daily driver??

Are you going to be towing a lot and heavy?

Are you going to be sled pulling?

Is the engine going to be IC'd?

What trans are you going to be using. "Don't say turbo 400 eather".

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im going to use the truck as a show, Drag race, maby pull once. Its a 2wd and I would like to find a allison 1000 auto if it will work.

·
1ST GEN MODERATOR
16,269 Posts
The problem with the ally 1K is finding someone that will program the controller for it. Getting it bolted to the engine isn't a problem. There is an aftermarket controller made for it. It is for the 5 spd model only.

The floor pan might be another issure. An SAE #3 adapter is going to be a real tight fit. The chevy adapaters used on the 4BT's in the bread trucks most of the time had the engines setting at about a 5 degree angle for the engine to clear the cover assy. So in a straight up install of the engine that would tilt the trans at 5 degrees.

I have owned a 5ea 68 to 72, C30's over a 20 year period. Those trucks I know inside and out.