Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
746 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had this truck less than 1000 miles and the Malfunction Indicator Light comes on yesterday. I do some research and I read someone saying that this engine has to come up to really high operating temperatures for it to burn all the soot and stuff, otherwise it will cause clogs and all.... Again I am new to all this stuff, and can anyone explain why the MIL light may have come on? And also how I can see this operating temperature is high enough so the engine won't mess up. Is there a way to monitor this?

Reactions: 49erjim

·
Registered
497 Posts
you have to run it on the freeway.. if you do alot of start and stopng it will clog. run it hard. do you do much freeway?

·
Registered
746 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
you have to run it on the freeway.. if you do alot of start and stopng it will clog. run it hard. do you do much freeway?
My commute to work is 25 miles one way (about 13 miles freeway). So should I just take it out and drive it for about 45 to 50 minutes? Should I keep it off Overdrive while doing that?

·
Registered
53 Posts
mine came in 1840kms in.. gas cap haha

·
Registered
319 Posts
From what I understand the only thing you can do is make sure you have the latest flash and they are doing ok. I had a 07.5 6.7 and had so many problem I had to have a buy back and got an 08 and love it!

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
you need to see what the MIL is. Turn the key on off on off on and watch the odometer and write down the code and get back to us. It may be something different than the DPF

Chris

·
Registered
746 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·