Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Juggernaut
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I’m always getting so many questions about this subject. Obviously many of you are interested in doing such a conversion so I decided to write this thread about my own personal experience so that everyone can have one thread to reference back to in the future.

My 2005 Cummins had an injector failure which resulted in #6 piston being damaged so after removing the block and examining what damage had been done I decided to try something different. I started doing my research in my 6.7 manual and comparing everything to the specs on my 5.9. As far as I could tell there was no reason I couldn’t find a 6.7 bottom end and use my 5.9 head and electronics. At this point in time I couldn’t find anyone who had done this conversion. Google searches turned up nothing and everyone was telling me that it wouldn’t work. I build engines for a living, mostly class 8 truck engines but we do a lot with the 5.9 and 6.7 Cummins as well so I had a lot of spare parts at my disposal to make everything come together. It’s been a couple of years since I did this but I will try to remember everything to the best of my knowledge.

I started with a 2008 6.7 Cummins and a 2005 Cummins. We stripped both engines completely and performed all necessary machine work to the 6.7 block and to the 5.9 cylinder head. I wanted to continue to use my 5.9 head because of all the work I have done to it (bolt on intake, ported and polished, etc.). The blocks do have some differences but nothing that is a real issue for doing the conversion. Just make sure to use a 6.7 head gasket !!!