Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey im new to this and im not much of a motor head. i have a 2006 2500 with the 5.9 cummins. sometimes whenever i hit the gas once i reach 20 mph i can feel the turbo boost. and sometimes whenever i do the same there is no turbo boost. i am completely lost at what this could be. your help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Idk if you know much about how turbos work and such but here is a little background. The turbo works off the exhaust gas pressure coming out of the cylinders. So basically the more exhaust pressure (ie: the more fuel you put into the cylinder) the faster and harder the turbo will spool. So here is what i bielve your expierincing (sp). When you ease into the throttle and reach 20mph, there is not much pressure due to the gradual application of fuel. BUT when you mash the petal to the floor at stand still, there is an enoumous amount of fuel burning which makes a high eshaust pressure causing your turbo to spool. Other factors include is the grounds wet your tires will break loose reducing the load on the engine causing less pressure.....it really all comes down to how fast your going and how hard you mash the pedal.

hope this helps,
Pitman

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3