Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven’t driven a 3500 with air. Instead of adding bags to my 2500 to support a 5th wheel pin weight I’m thinking about trading for a 3500 with air.

Can anyone speak to the ride quality of the 3500?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
15,739 Posts
Ours rides nicely, even empty.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Go drive one with & with out the air suspension. Drive them back to back. You'll have your answer pretty quickly.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Just posed this scenario in the srw vs drw thread but if may get lost in the other 203 comments. lol

I’ve read that your air suspension stops working if your over your trucks payload rating leaving you dead in the water. I’m new to the 5th wheel toy hauler world but some of those haulers have some heavy pin weights in the mid 3000 range. A srw limited 4x4 is going to have a payload rating around 3600-3700.

Does the air ride kill at the exact payload rating or does it give you some margin of error?

·
Registered
15,739 Posts
I’ve read that your air suspension stops working if your over your trucks payload rating leaving you dead in the water.

Does the air ride kill at the exact payload rating or does it give you some margin of error?
If you read it on the internet, it is obviously true. But I heard that the sensor allows for a few ounces above payload, in case there's dust in the bed.

Meanwhile, in real life, it seems that some 2500s have had the system bark back when severely over loaded.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If you read it on the internet, it is obviously true. But I heard that the sensor allows for a few ounces above payload, in case there's dust in the bed.

Meanwhile, in real life, it seems that some 2500s have had the system bark back when severely over loaded.
So factory air it is. Lol

·
Registered
4,729 Posts