Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Truck has a rough idle that goes away about 1,000 rpm. No blow by. No fuel in oil. Mannie. Starts fine, drives fine. Only had the truck (93k miles) for a couple weeks, so no idea as to its maintenance history.

With my bi-di scan tool, I shut off each injector after I ran the truck for 40 min.

Injector 1: engine got rougher when it was shut down.
Injector 2: engine got smoother.
Injector 3: rougher
In 4: very little/no change
In 5: very little/no change
In 6: rougher.

I'm just a shade-tree mechanic-- does this test indicate that injector #2 is bad? Another question: I assume on the scan tool that cyl #2 correspond with cyl #2 on the engine. Is that counting from the front or the back? thx.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
PS: from what I've read, it could be the clutch/dmf, but would rather rule out injectors first.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I've not had to deal with injectors (yet). But you might consider swapping #2 and #3 and see if the behavior follows the injectors.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's an idea. Thanks. I wonder though, with all the trouble that it is, maybe buy a single new injector, install it in #2, and see what happens. If the problem is fixed, great... if not, then I have a spare working injector.

Some mechanics on youtube recommend that if you replace one, just replace them all.

·
Registered
5,332 Posts
if you stopped cylinder 4 and 5 injectors and nothing changed would concern me .
153624 is firing order, number 1 cylinder is front of engine bay
What does rail pressure show??

·
Registered
5,332 Posts
avg when ?
Demanded RP should be with in 500 hundred psi of actual RP .
When you shut off any of cylinders does idle and RP change the same amount ?
both should behave the same with any of 6 cylinders not taking fuel, ECM adjust fueling.