Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
ok guys, im new to whole diesel scene so bare with me please. I'm trying to find some info for my grandfather. First off, he has a 2005 quad cab with the 5.9L and auto trans. Well about 3 weeks ago, he said he truck started running real rough, almost like it was missing. The very next day, he was on his way home from work and it completely shut down. It has not started up since then.

He has a mechanic friend that has been working on it for him, but the guy doesnt know much about the diesel engines. We can't really afford to just start throwing parts at and hope one will fix it.

Any ideas on where to look for a solution? btw, we have checked the fuel, and it appeared to be fine. also tried draining the lines and replacing the fuel. still no go.

·
Registered
227 Posts
You need to start by finding out what codes it has stored. Turn your key to the run posistion and then back off three times and on the third time look at your odometer and it should show you what codes are stored.

·
Registered
227 Posts
by the way.....:welcome::welcome:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
will any codes show up, that wouldnt display in a normal code scanner? thanks for the help

BRIAN DRAKE said:
You need to start by finding out what codes it has stored. Turn your key to the run posistion and then back off three times and on the third time look at your odometer and it should show you what codes are stored.

·
Registered
227 Posts
i wouldnt think, did you already scan it for codes? does it show any codes?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ive scanned it once myself, and no codes were displayed. im not sure if the mechanic has scanned it since he has had it. i'll check though.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
ok, the mechanic says he has checked the codes several times and nothing.

what is the best route to go from here? fuel filter,fuel pump etc?

·