Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2001, 2500 has 235k and as far as I know everything is original. My steering wheel has no steering from about 10-2 like I can shake the wheel back and forth with literally almost no truck movement, and steering it is almost scary at time.

I'm no mechanic not even the shade tree type, but can generally do most work myself using YouTube and forum posts. I don't have any special tools besides basic wrenches and such. Also don't have really any understanding of how a front end works.
But at this point I'm just assuming everything is shot and needs replaced and looking for some guidance

1) how hard it it to rebuild a front end?
2) any special tools needed besides jack stands?
3) is there any good complete kits available? Did some googling and all I found was a Moog kit?
4) I read once upon a time about converting to some type of 4th gen steering, ( I think) can anyone comment on what that is and point me to it.
5) anything else I need to know?

Stock lift, running 33 tires.

Thank you

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
209 Posts
Rock auto should have a complete kit. You will need to do it with a pencil and paper. When you unscrew the tie rod ends, count the revolutions. Putting them back on close to the same number of revolutions will keep you pretty close to where your alignment was prior to the rebuild. Or, just plan on getting an alignment. An alignment isn’t a bad idea since you’ve probably never had one and they’re only $150 or so. If you are off on your alignment and you keep driving it can eat your tires pretty quick - these trucks are heavy enough to do it in under 10k miles.

The whole rebuild should only take you half a day. It’s easiest for me to lift the whole front end and put the jack stands on the frame and take both tires off.

·