Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I jumped on the wagon and ran some 2 stroke oil thru the dodge this weekend. It seemed to run smoother and has a little more power. I know it helps with piece of mind.

·
Banned
146 Posts
I have been doing this for 2 years, and the rig runs great. I am very happy with it. . .

·
Registered
99 Posts
I havent thought about this but I will try it when I come home.

this website is awesome

·
Registered
87 Posts
I have found that 8-10 oz is the best mixture for my truck. Or i will run 6-8 oz of 2stroke and 4-6 oz of Howes Diesel Treat (not meaner cleaner).

·
Registered
886 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have been doing this for 2 years, and the rig runs great. I am very happy with it. . .
I see you have an amzoil logo on your sig. Are you using amzoil 2 stroke oil?

I bought a gallon at NAPA the other day to use. Their synthetic stuff. $28 a gallon, but if figured the old girl is worth it.

The first stuff I put in was some Mercury synthetic I had left over from last years season. I dumped in two quarts just to give her a little extra to start with. It starts a little hard now so I'll back down to the 1/2 to a quart a tank that everyone else is running.

·
Banned
5,596 Posts
Why not use an addative designed to be used in a HPCR engine and not a 2 cycle weed wacker engine? Or, better yet, run some biodiesel.

·
Registered
477 Posts
last truck was just powerservice...

this truck has been 16oz PS and 16oz semi-syn 2 stroke per fill up

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
2 things. 1) no need for expensive 2 stroke, wally world tcw-3 is fine. 2) for second gens 1 oz / gal (128:1) is good, 3rd gens like it at .64 oz / gal (200:1). If you put a set amount per fill up you will be making the mixture leaner or richer than it needs to be. I fill up then calculate .64 x gallons of fuel added and dump it in on top. This keeps the mix right.

·
Registered