Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well howdy from down under.

heads up if you have no clue what I’m on about just search google and throw Australia at the end or ask me. I’m more than happy to explain. I am a qualified mechanic by trade and can never get enough of cars.

I have myself a little project going on at the moment, me and my wife (beautiful woman she is loves cars as much as I do and probably spends more on hers that I do on mine :LOL:) are undertaking this with the ideas of getting it on the road and done under $15k aud here is the rundown.

We already own a 2004 Nissan patrol with a zd30 3.0L (known as the grenade) in-line 4 turbo diesel with a 5 speed manual Australian delivered that does 1-60mph in about 2 years and 3 engines. It has 420000km or 260000m on it and the zd30 is lucky to make it past 150000km/93000m, we want to go touring Australia and want reliability so it’s gotta go.
99883342-2078-4704-9A81-187B0560D441.jpeg

262D8133-D97F-4B46-9812-824E53BF6731.jpeg

6ED49422-EC78-4091-8DE3-A5BFDEE78C6B.jpeg

The patrol is a great car to drive tour and 4wd in they are big in Europe, Middle East and down here they came with a few engine combos but they each have there own issues. If you really love the car you will usually end up buying or converting it to the td42 4.2L turbo diesel (known as the kettle). I was not to keen on throwing that in as they are know to get hot very easy hence the name, or snap cranks. Plus the engines cost around $6000aud for one in decent shape with all the ancillary’s in factory form and to even get to 200hp is $5000+ The amount of work swapping one of them in is about the same as anything because you have to cut the engine mount brackets off the chassis and weld on new ones.