Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 1977 dually first gen dodge and wanting to do a 5.9L 12 valve Cummins motor swap in it. missing alot of wires etc I’m young so I’m still learning on the way does anyone have any advice on where to begin? I Tore the motor and tranny out last night so completely stripped
Tire Wheel Automotive parking light Land vehicle Car

Wood Automotive tire Tints and shades Road surface Flooring

Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Motor vehicle

·
Registered
17,508 Posts
I hope you have the donor truck of that 12 valve that is on the pallet. Putting all the componants you need together if you don't have the donor will be mind boggling.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I hope you have the donor truck of that 12 valve that is on the pallet. Putting all the componants you need together if you don't have the donor will be mind boggling.
It came out of a box truck it’s my grandpas my father in law gave it to me with the truck mainly focusing on what I need because I want to convert it to a six speed Cummins I’ve always drove a manuel and I just think that the truck would look nice and sound nice with the manuel

·
Registered
215 Posts
You should upgrade your transmission too. Gasser stuff doesn't typically live well with the low grunt power of the Cummins. Hopefully you still have, or have access to, the donor truck.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Sorry, we posted at the same time. You'll have a lot of parts to source.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Looking forward to watching your build. You may want to scroll down the forums menu to the conversion section. Lots of info there. Many great guys here to help you along too.

Reactions: Jamesneighbor

·
Registered
2022 3500 HO DRW Laramie. 1997, 3500 DRW Laramie.
84 Posts
You may want to make sure the frame is capable of handling that torque. Early Cummins had problems twisting frames.

·
Registered
3,105 Posts