Obtaining A CDL? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
Towing & Hauling Discussion of Towing & Hauling Habits

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 74 (permalink) Old 06-13-2011, 12:06 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fan

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up Obtaining A CDL?

I'm looking into obtaining a CDL and had a few questions that I figured many of you guys could answer.

I'm currently only 19 but Ive been towing trailers for four years, I regularly tow 12' - 30' trailers and am very comfortable doing so.

Many of the jobs I want to acquire require a CDL, other than that I would like to have on just in case.

I'm currently in WA state but will be moving out to AR more than likely.

Whats the best method for getting my CDL? I don't have access to a truck big enough to take the CDL test with, am I better off just taking the class ( Its just so damn expensive ).

Other than that, what else do I need to know? What steps should I be taking or reading up on to get this license?

Which state is going to be easier to get this license in?

Thanks in advance!

2002 Ram 2500 Cummins 6 Speed | Rear Locker | Timbo APPS | 4.5k HID | Rigid Lighting | HBS Level | 201,000 Mi | BHAF | 5" RSD | Quadzilla / Boost Elbow | 16" Ultra PC'ed | 35" Guard Dog | 165 Airdog 2 | Draw Straw |
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 74 (permalink) Old 06-13-2011, 05:53 PM
Master of Mayhem NASFIG

Thanked 3,521 Times in 2,365 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Your age is going to be the main thing. you can only get a intrastate cdl and not a interstate cdl. The test was easy, read the book and took it, i have the truck so no problems getting that done. You mite be able to rent one that will work..

Really don't give a rat's App**
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 3 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 74 (permalink) Old 06-13-2011, 08:48 PM
Diesel Head