Code p1693 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
98.5-02 Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine , Transmission Ect..NO ADVERTISING .

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Code p1693

So I was driving did a wot to figure out tuning and my check engine light came on I stopped to park it and flipped the key three times and got the p1693 code on my boost gauge came close to 50psi as I’m running a super b single turbo I pulled up diagnostic codes on my quadzilla and got nothing could this be an over boost code but not showing it ?

Voltronics is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Voltronics For This Useful Post:
tommyp.mcpherson (09-05-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:08 PM
Diesel Head
 
Clunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,478
Thanks: 1,158
Thanked 744 Times in 684 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
P1693 DTC Detected in PCM/ECM or DTC Detected in ECM
A Companion DTC was set in both the ECM and PCM.

There is a code stored and the PCM & ECM both know about it.
It may be from an old code or you'll need a scan tool to see it.

'01.5 QC, SB, 6spd 4x4, Drag Comp, 4" exh. Jammer 100's, 62-65-.70A/R WG, adj.boost elbow Big Line, fuel press.pyro & boost gauges fuel cooler BHAF, Black Holley lift pump-12psi WOT Ceramic/Kevlar SD clutch, studs Take time to turn-so you don't burn
Clunk is offline  
post #3 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
P1693 DTC Detected in PCM/ECM or DTC Detected in ECM
A Companion DTC was set in both the ECM and PCM.

There is a code stored and the PCM & ECM both know about it.
It may be from an old code or you'll need a scan tool to see it.
The code cleared itself after about 5 starts then came back after driving it for about 30 min when the light comes on power stops for about 2 seconds then comes back on perfectly. I only lose power for two seconds when the light goes off then comes back on. I’m assuming it can’t be a bad code if the truck runs perfectly with the light on and off just curious why it comes on and off
Voltronics is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:30 PM
Diesel Head
 
me78569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorado Springs Co
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 785
Thanked 2,398 Times in 1,919 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
go scan codes with a code scanner. The quadzilla doesn't read codes on a 2nd gen.


Guessing it is a map code.

2018 3500 CCLB G56
me78569 is offline  
post #5 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by me78569 View Post
go scan codes with a code scanner. The quadzilla doesn't read codes on a 2nd gen.


Guessing it is a map code.
What scan tool should I buy or who should I go to I want the dealership to be the last resort
Voltronics is offline  
post #6 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:41 PM
Diesel Head
 
me78569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorado Springs Co
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 785
Thanked 2,398 Times in 1,919 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
just go to a autozone or similar and borrow one.

2018 3500 CCLB G56
me78569 is offline  
post #7 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by me78569 View Post
just go to a autozone or similar and borrow one.
ok thanks I’ll do that soon and get back to y’all
Voltronics is offline  
post #8 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by me78569 View Post
just go to a autozone or similar and borrow one.
Guy at autozone said it was the throttle position sensor does that make sense? It seems like the throttle is fine no jumping Surging and the code cleared itself and came back on after driving it
tommyp.mcpherson likes this.
Voltronics is offline  
post #9 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 10:45 AM
Diesel Head
 
me78569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorado Springs Co
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 785
Thanked 2,398 Times in 1,919 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
What was the xode number?
me78569 is offline  
post #10 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by me78569 View Post
What was the xode number?
I asked the guy for the code number and he said that scan tool didn’t give him one just read the code as throttle position sensor which puzzled me too
Voltronics is offline  
post #11 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 03:29 PM
Diesel Head
 
me78569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Colorado Springs Co
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 785
Thanked 2,398 Times in 1,919 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
There are 3 different apps codes.

If you wanted to buy a scanner i would recommend a obdlink.

Onceyou know the code go to mopar1973man and look it up. There is troubleshooting for all codes
me78569 is offline  
post #12 of 52 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Voltronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by me78569 View Post
There are 3 different apps codes.

If you wanted to buy a scanner i would recommend a obdlink.

Onceyou know the code go to mopar1973man and look it up. There is troubleshooting for all codes
I was looking at obdlink is there any difference for dodged when it comes to like lx or mx, mx+
Voltronics is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome