First time Cummins owner (Looking for upgrades) - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
98.5-02 Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the 98-02 Trucks No Advertising ...NO ADVERTISING

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-06-2019, 08:57 AM Thread Starter

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hey guys so I bought my first turbo diesel the other day, it’s a 99 dodge 2500 Cummins with the 24v and the HX35 turbo. I’m not new to turbo’ed Vehicles or mechanics but I am new to a turbo diesel Cummins. I use to have a 500whp Acura Integra with a GT35R turbo on it back about 8 years ago when I was a kid.

I’m looking for some cheap mods to get me going, I don’t want to make this truck a race truck because it’s just gonna be for hauling trailers and daily driving so I’m just looking to unlock some extra power.

So far it’s totally un-molested, only thing that’s been done to it is an upgraded lift pump (in the tank) I was told..which is great because of the injection pump issues with a stock lift pump. Other than that he said he did some type of ground from the engine? Supposedly it helps with something but he couldn’t remember what it was suppose to help; I’m thinking he was talking about the ground strap you add from the Transmisson to help with transmission noise but I’m not totally sure I’ll have to look into it and see where that ground goes to that he showed me when I bought the truck.

What I want: (Cheap Extra Power)
-Good quality but cheap 4” or 5” Turbo back exhaust. (I want it to be opened up and sound a bit louder) do I want a muffler? Do I want a 4” or a 5”? Thinking 4” would be plenty with no muffler but you guys tell me? (Recommendations?)

-A cheap but decent air intake (Recommendations?)