1999 p-pump 24v trans not shifting - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
98.5-02 24V P-Pump Conversion Discussion of converting 24V trucks from the VP44 stock pump to a P-Pump powered 24V No Advertising ...NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 11:30 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
1999 p-pump 24v trans not shifting

1999 p-pumped 24v trans wont shift out of first had a noise box on it I took it off started to not shift put noise box back on it shifted all the way to third but no power.

Mods are
Pictured

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190707_233019_1562556642157.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	473.6 KB
ID:	851533  
Kramer_12v is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:14 PM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,014
Thanks: 628
Thanked 2,174 Times in 2,031 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I see you have a Firepunk trans, maybe call then and tell them your problem. What do you mean shifted to 3rd and no power, the engine had no power?

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired
9297oldram is online now  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 11:51 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9297oldram View Post
I see you have a Firepunk trans, maybe call then and tell them your problem. What do you mean shifted to 3rd and no power, the engine had no power?
Yes it shifted to 1st,2nd,3rd motor had no power. I bought it off of some older guy he said it had a firepunk but no papers for trans
Kramer_12v is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 06:09 AM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,014
Thanks: 628
Thanked 2,174 Times in 2,031 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Does it have a fuel pressure gauge, sounds like maybe a fuel problem if the engine has no power. What is being used for the transmission to shift into OD and LU?

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired
9297oldram is online now  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9297oldram View Post
Does it have a fuel pressure gauge, sounds like maybe a fuel problem if the engine has no power. What is being used for the transmission to shift into OD and LU?
Yes has fuel pressure gauge at. What do you mean what is being used?
Kramer_12v is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 07:33 PM
Diesel Head
 
Stormin08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lake Charles La. / St. Louis Mo.
Posts: 5,699
Thanks: 544
Thanked 563 Times in 515 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
do you still have the stock 24V pcm ? or an aftermarket trans controller ?

02 Sport / 47re / 4" MBRP TBE / DAP 75hp sticks/ HX35W / GDP FUEL BOSS / DDRP02 / 3rd gen brakes / 4th gen steering / 2" Thuren / MC ARMS / 5100's /285/75/17
Stormin08 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormin08 View Post
do you still have the stock 24V pcm ? or an aftermarket trans controller ?
I'm not sure as i didnt do the swap anyway to tell
Kramer_12v is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 06:58 AM
Diesel Head
 
Stormin08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lake Charles La. / St. Louis Mo.
Posts: 5,699
Thanks: 544
Thanked 563 Times in 515 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
go trace the wiring....the pcm is located on the firewall behind air intake box.

ir start at the trans connection and work up from there (probably tell more by this method)...

just chase the harness from the trans back, any splices, cut wires ect....list all.

02 Sport / 47re / 4" MBRP TBE / DAP 75hp sticks/ HX35W / GDP FUEL BOSS / DDRP02 / 3rd gen brakes / 4th gen steering / 2" Thuren / MC ARMS / 5100's /285/75/17
Stormin08 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:14 AM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,014
Thanks: 628
Thanked 2,174 Times in 2,031 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramer_12v View Post
Yes has fuel pressure gauge at. What do you mean what is being used?
Firepunk has there own controller. Does your fuel pressure drop down low when there is no power?

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired
9297oldram is online now  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9297oldram View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramer_12v View Post
Yes has fuel pressure gauge at. What do you mean what is being used?
Firepunk has there own controller. Does your fuel pressure drop down low when there is no power?
no sir it stays at 60psi
Kramer_12v is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Kramer_12v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Well I found out that the tps bracket isnt mounted I thinking that could be part of my problem😂🏼
Kramer_12v is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome