proper type of smoke question - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
94-98 Non-Powertrain Discussion of 94-98 Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-10-2013, 09:18 PM Thread Starter

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
proper type of smoke question

I am new to the diesel world and just want to ask a question about the smoke that comes out of the truck. Every one says black smoke is good white is bad.

So I just wanted to ask because I may be just paranoid about this?

I just bought a 95 dodge with 75k miles on it and have be driving it for a while when it was warm, black smoke would come out when I hit the gas hard.

Now winter has set in and when the truck is warm charcoal smoke comes out when I hit it. Is this normal or should it be dark black?

when I start it in the morning and it is cold a little whit smoke comes out ( like most cars do at this time of the year) Then when it warms up there is no smoke at all and if I blip the throttle a puff of black smoke comes out. Normal driving no smoke comes out.

Thanks for your help

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-10-2013, 09:29 PM
The Uppity 12v Guy

Thanked 1,329 Times in 957 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
White smoke is just unburned fuel vapor. You're likely going to get it on a cold engine. Mine doesn't give any white smoke when it's warmer even on cold starts. Lately I get a white puff on startup.

'95 2500 ECLB 4x4, 334k and paused due to epic transformation in progress.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-10-2013, 10:21 PM
Diesel Head

Thanked 2,813 Times in 2,113 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews