isspro r8503+wire kit issue on 92 - Page 2 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
89-93 Non-Powertrain Discussion of 1st Gen. Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

 1Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
ok i’ll double check but i didn’t see an external reg on it.
so i don’t get why the tach isn’t working then. i’ve spoken with isspro already and went thru what they told me to check.
all is hooked up correct but i don’t know what the issue is.
judt confused
i’ll go thru it all again to triple check


1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 09:04 PM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,059
Thanks: 631
Thanked 2,178 Times in 2,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick05 View Post
ok i’ll double check but i didn’t see an external reg on it.
so i don’t get why the tach isn’t working then. i’ve spoken with isspro already and went thru what they told me to check.
all is hooked up correct but i don’t know what the issue is.
judt confused
i’ll go thru it all again to triple check
I'll explain how the CPS works, when the ECM gets a signal from the CPS that the engine is running it pulls in the ASD relay and the charging, A/C and a few other functions the ASD controls works. In order for the CPS to work it has to have a air gap of .050, so if your charging system works then the CPS works.

You might need to get a FSM so that you can see if there is a problem with the wires that go to the wiring in the cab.

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired

Last edited by 9297oldram; 05-09-2018 at 09:07 PM.
9297oldram is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
ok great info. appreciate it. then let me ask you this, possibly junk tach, any way to test it?

1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-09-2018, 11:35 PM
Diesel Head
 
myother4x4isaCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dufur oregon
Posts: 3,676
Thanks: 42
Thanked 336 Times in 316 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick05 View Post
ok great info. appreciate it. then let me ask you this, possibly junk tach, any way to test it?
Iíll bet isspro will test it for ya. Was it brand new or used?
myother4x4isaCJ7 is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-10-2018, 08:49 AM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
dang it! why did i forget to ask isspro yest? ugh. yes gauge is new.
i’ll get this figured out soon and report back who’s error was is.
gauge, truck , or operator

thanks again for the assistance fellas

1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-10-2018, 09:07 AM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,059
Thanks: 631
Thanked 2,178 Times in 2,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Have you checked the wires in the cab for volts, and are you using the right connector?

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired
9297oldram is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-10-2018, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
lol yes or i hope so. 2 black 1 orange 1 grey lightblue. (connector)
verified thru connector—have good ground, have 13.8v key on and .1v on the signal wire.
i don’t remember if the signal wire was flashing between.1v and 5v or whatever it’s supposed too for signal output.
maybe i need to tap into black wire off gauge and put it to ground closer as directions state?

i will be checking everything over again tonight when i get home. i’ll write it down on paper for my checklist

1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-10-2018, 09:55 AM
Moderator
 
9297oldram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington In.
Posts: 20,059
Thanks: 631
Thanked 2,178 Times in 2,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just for testing run a good ground from the battery neg and tie the grounds on it.

84 K5 Blazer 97 12v, 47re with E-TransControl, Dodge Dana 60 with free spin hubs, Dana 70, B&M Mega shifter

96 F350 SC dually zf5, 4x4, 92 Cummins, THD 5x12's, THD fuel pin, THD HVLP with adjustable fuel pressure mod, WM, h1c 60/60/12cm WG wired
9297oldram is offline  
post #21 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-10-2018, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
ok I ran out of time but did a quick check on the wiring.

red has 14v key on
green has power when light switch pulled
ground is good and ran a separate wire to battery neg. made no diff.
grey/blue tracer has .15v reading with truck running.

also ran a separate wire off cps signal wire underhood to isspro harness bypassing factory wire. yellow and white. no diff.

still no reading.

now the only thing I didn't do all at once, is run the separate signal wire bypassing the factory truck wire, along with a neg wire direct from battery. didn't have enough gator clips or a helper.

now I got a little ahead of myself when I first started testing and forgot to plug in the cps. truck started but volt gauge read low. I realized wtf, then plugged back in. volt gauge reads normal location.

so what does the signal wire voltage put out? i tried ac and dc voltage. guy at isspro told me to have my meter on ac.

idk it's almost Friday. time for tails

1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
post #22 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-13-2018, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Diesel Freak
 
nick05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 554
Thanks: 13
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
well guys figured it out.

thru on a new cps, still didn't work thru factory plug, BUT,

ran a separate wire from cps sig wire straight to gauge, boom we have rpm.

so somewhere between the ecm and factory connector it has a break. was not getting the same reading direct from cps.

kinda odd when I ohm'd the wire connections to and from ecm, checking out ok before.

thanks again for the pointers and help, on to the next headache.
thrashingcows likes this.

1992 w250 cc, 5spd "in progress"
98 12v cclb 5spd 4wd
nick05 is offline  
post #23 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 03:02 PM
Diesel Head
 
thrashingcows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4,522
Thanks: 998
Thanked 827 Times in 697 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Glad you got it figured out.....and way to persist until you found the problem!

1984/93 Dodge Crewcab, W350, 1 Ton SRW, long box, 350K Km's, hydroboost, 366 spring, fuel pin to deep side, 14cm housing, Piston LP, PS IC, Isspro Boost, Pyro and tach, NV4500, 29 spline NP205, 3.54's.
thrashingcows is offline  
post #24 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-25-2018, 11:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Nanaimo bc , canada
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So i bought the 4k flat face tach
Thought ide save money didnt buy the harness, turns out i dont have a signal at all from wire in fact harness, so i hard wired to back of alt off one of those screws, now turn key goes str8 to 1000k but sticks there doesnt move, even turn off stays there,
I bought a 0.0047 capacitor but not from radio shack, that is only way my tach will move, if i just go str8 to wire no signal, but i get the jump to 1000k of ignition with capacitor in line
Im super frusterated and would like to know what capacitor to use
The one i bought was from florida and took 2 weeks to get cost 25c but is 1000v and the radio shack one is 500v
Please someone understand at all what im asking, i know tack works just have to find right filter lol
Thank you for your patience for my long post but first gens are worth it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180512_135731_HDR_1527303908259.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	809578  
spencejordan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome