Chris' 1st Gen Build Up - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
89-93 Non-Powertrain Discussion of 1st Gen. Topics Not related to the Powertrain...NO ADVERTISING

23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 97 (permalink) Old 07-03-2016, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Smile Chris' 1st Gen Build Up

Hello all. It has been a few years since I have owned a real truck and I am thrilled to say I am now the proud owner of a 1991.5 Std Cab Ram W250 LE! Really clean body (no rust), interior needs work and as far as I can tell an almost totaly stock engine and drive train. I am new to diesels but not to wrenching. Computer geek by trade, mechanic fabricator by hobby.

This weekend I have spent a bit of time under the hood trying to figure out what I have and what mods have been done to the truck, developing a plan of action for it, cause mods cost money and that stuff just doesnt grow on trees.

As it sits now (I believe) I have
  • 12 valve, intercooled, VE pumped cummins
  • H1C turbo w/ 21 cm exhaust houseing.
  • Stock airbox with a round no name filter
  • 3 inch downpipe and exhaust cut off under the bed w/ muffler
  • 518/46RH tranny that last owner claims was rebuilt in the past
  • D60/D70 3.54 std axles w/ 265 tires
  • Antilock brakes? Some VIN lookups say 4WALB some say none. I am not sure what to look for to confirm one way or the other or inbetween.

The rest of today will be spent changing engine, diffs and trany oil. Air, oil and fuel filters, and trying to clean up the inside a bit. If I can get to it, drill some holes in the airbox and pull the speedo signal modifier at the transfer case and see if that fixes the speedo from reading 10% fast.

This is a long term truck for me. It will be my DD when I cant commute in the wifes car, home truck duties, pull my '76 CJ5 to trails and some day a camper and CJ5 to distant trails. So here is the mod list as I see it from reading on these forums.
  • 4" exhaust from Diamond Eye