Fuel Rail Pressure Sensor Replacement Instructions - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Powertrain Discussion of components that are directly involved in the power production and all that is needed to get and keep the truck moving . Engine, Transmission, etc...NO ADVERTISING

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Angry Fuel Rail Pressure Sensor Replacement Instructions

I'm having a hard time figuring out how to get to this sensor. There is a bracket coming off the motor that blocks any wrench from getting back there. Is there any instructions y'all could help me with getting back in there? Or do you recommend having the dealer do the replacement?

TIA!

crowag2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 07:46 PM
Diesel Head
 
DodgeMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: THE REPUBLIC OF TEXAS
Posts: 11,999
Thanks: 2,854
Thanked 1,273 Times in 1,002 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
i do recommend the dealer doing it

but, to answer the question, a long, flex head 1/2 inch ratchet, with a deep 1 1/16 socket will do it...kind of a pain, and it's on there tighter than hell, but it's doable

-CJ
05 F250 SuperCab long bed, soon to have a 12 valve
06 Jetta TDI Daily
DodgeMech is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 07:50 PM
rjp
Diesel Head
 
rjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 7,035
Thanks: 173
Thanked 1,239 Times in 975 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Remove the lifting bracket from the head, it will give you the room you need.
rjp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 10:58 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjp View Post
Remove the lifting bracket from the head, it will give you the room you need.
Going straight from the top? Or did you go from underneath the truck? Seems like that's a hell of an angle to get in there.
crowag2010 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 11:11 PM
rjp
Diesel Head
 
rjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 7,035
Thanks: 173
Thanked 1,239 Times in 975 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Yes, from the top. You could also remove the complete rail if that suits you better. It's one of them jobs where you just have to man up and know something is fixing to bleed. Lol

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
C37 and 13flatbed35 like this.
rjp is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjp View Post
Yes, from the top. You could also remove the complete rail if that suits you better. It's one of them jobs where you just have to man up and know something is fixing to bleed. Lol

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Ha! Either I bleed or my wallet does...got it
crowag2010 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 11:20 PM
rjp
Diesel Head
 
rjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 7,035
Thanks: 173
Thanked 1,239 Times in 975 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
If all else fails you can jack the truck up and remove the tire and inner fender and have a pretty good angle on the sensor. I have done it this way before but I had an over head crane hooked to the truck and was able to stand up in the wheel well.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
rjp is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-05-2016, 11:27 PM
rjp
Diesel Head
 
rjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 7,035
Thanks: 173
Thanked 1,239 Times in 975 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Just an fyi, the fuel rails are bad about leaking once you R&R a sensor or FPRV. Just be aware if there is a leak after you replace it, it's done. You can buy a complete rail with sensor for around 150 more than what the sensor alone cost.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
rjp is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 08:35 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjp View Post
Just an fyi, the fuel rails are bad about leaking once you R&R a sensor or FPRV. Just be aware if there is a leak after you replace it, it's done. You can buy a complete rail with sensor for around 150 more than what the sensor alone cost.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
I think I'm going to try just taking the hoist bracket off and get the sensor off. Radical change of location from the 5.9L from what I can see, and I'm shocked that there are literally no videos online of "how to" for this booger.
crowag2010 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-06-2016, 07:49 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Swfl
Posts: 1,127
Thanks: 65
Thanked 207 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowag2010 View Post
I think I'm going to try just taking the hoist bracket off and get the sensor off. Radical change of location from the 5.9L from what I can see, and I'm shocked that there are literally no videos online of "how to" for this booger.
Well here's your time to be a movie star..... Make you a video....

2015 2500 Laramie ccsb CTD, Lots of thuren goodies, fox shox, bmf novakanes, amp steps, lost a few parts underneath, and the list goes on......
Mmecsics is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-08-2016, 04:55 PM
Cummins Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Good luck. Wear some leather gloves to prevent the bruised/scrapped up knuckles.
RAMMED67 is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-01-2016, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
13flatbed35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: ND
Posts: 31
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjp View Post
Yes, from the top. You could also remove the complete rail if that suits you better. It's one of them jobs where you just have to man up and know something is fixing to bleed. Lol

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
every time i work on my truck, i have to wonder how much blood I'm going to drip on the motor. haha
HawkEye Mihawk and timm9 like this.

2013 3500 tradseman flatbed, emissions free=worry free.

-Riding around with delete tunes installed thinking everything was gonna be ok
13flatbed35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome