EFI Live vs MCC Can someone explain? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Performance Parts Discussion Discussion of Performance Parts For the 4th Gen Trucks...NO ADVERTISING

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-23-2015, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Saz
Cummins Nut

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
EFI Live vs MCC Can someone explain?

I have been reading so many threads on EFI my head is swimming. I guess I need to be educated on EFI Live, kindergarten style.

I have been running my Mini with MCC and LOVE IT! Now, I have read a lot of threads about EFI live coming for 4th gens and how everyone is so excited about it etc...... So my real question is this, and I apologize for my ignorance in advance. But what is the advantage of EFI Live over MCC? I don't completely understand the excitement. I am still a bit of a newbie to the diesel performance world of today, my last diesel truck before this one was a 96 ford with a 7.3........

From what I understand is that EFI live is only the software, and it is still up to the individual tuner to create the tuning. That being said, is EFI that much more flexible than MCC? For example, one issue with MCC is that your timing is the same across all 4 tunes in the truck, which really limits the effectiveness of the mileage vs performance correct? Does EFI resolve that?

Why is CSP5 so difficult to bring to market (if that is even the case)? If EFI is that much better, I would really want to be able to switch between tunes similar to my Mini. So would all the tunes be completely independent? From what I have seen you can tune the transmission with EFI, right? So if you can, you would have a dedicated transmission tune for each performance tune (based on the individual behind the deyboard)- Am I on the right path there?

What is Data Logging, and why don't/can't you do that with MCC?