Speedometer calibration when tuned with EFI - Page 2 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Non-Powertrain Discussion of Accessories, Interior, everything not power related...NO ADVERTISING

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 04:29 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
mtondat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ritchie1087 View Post
Tuned on EFI Live
Do you have to go through the same process the third gen guys do? Where you flash on a stock tune, change tire size with the hypertech, and then reflash the EFI back on? Or are you able to just plug it in and change tire size without messing with the tune?


2011 CCSB, AFE Intake, 5" TBE, BD Iron horn s366/80 0.91, EFI Live from Breakout Tuning with CSP5, BD EGR Delete, BD Steering Stabilizer
mtondat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 10:36 AM
TPMS adjustment guy
 
4x4x4door's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arnold, MO
Posts: 1,557
Thanks: 185
Thanked 239 Times in 175 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Imo you're best answer is to call Hypertech. If you do it wrong your Hypertech will only be good for a paper weight.
bcflyfisher likes this.

2016 CCSB 2500 Laramie 4x4 68RFE

TPMS Adjusted..See how here! Speedo adjusted and fogs w/high beams enabled..Ask me how
Thuren suspension w/Kings, MM3, Airlift bags, 18x9 Warriors w/35" Atturo Trail Blades
2011 CCSB 2500 SLT 4x4 Auto w/150k miles-SOLD!
4x4x4door is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 07:07 PM
Cummins Fanatic
 
Megajoltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Coast
Posts: 193
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
I am also using a hypertech calibrator and tuned with EFI live.

Load EFI live first then the hypertech calibrator, never had a problem.

You can change tire size without messing with the EFI tunes.

Cheers
bcflyfisher likes this.

2010 3500 CTD Mega Cab- Thuren- 3" coils, control arms, shackles and Fox 2.0, Carli- Track bar and full leafs. 35x12.5x17 Toyo Xtreme, Draconian EFI Live, Mega-Flo S-3, 5" TBE, 17 FTE and Aero AT5050.
Megajoltman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-26-2019, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
mtondat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4x4door View Post
Imo you're best answer is to call Hypertech. If you do it wrong your Hypertech will only be good for a paper weight.
I will more than likely give them a call, I just always like to have a good idea of what I'm talking about before I go calling companies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megajoltman View Post
I am also using a hypertech calibrator and tuned with EFI live.

Load EFI live first then the hypertech calibrator, never had a problem.

You can change tire size without messing with the EFI tunes.

Cheers
Appreciate that feedback! This is exactly what I was looking to figure out.

2011 CCSB, AFE Intake, 5" TBE, BD Iron horn s366/80 0.91, EFI Live from Breakout Tuning with CSP5, BD EGR Delete, BD Steering Stabilizer
mtondat is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-11-2019, 11:29 PM
Diesel Head
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,726
Thanks: 119
Thanked 157 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Will an edge insight cts2 allow changes in tire size?

-1999 2500 white sport QCSB/NV4500/EMS free spins
-1997 2500 12v LWB 5spd, 1998.5 3500 P24V 5spd
-2016 MC Laramie G56 maximum steel/CTT/CTS2/SB3250/37s
nuljas23 is online now  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
mtondat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuljas23 View Post
Will an edge insight cts2 allow changes in tire size?
The insight can display a corrected speedometer reading on it's display however it will not actually correct the tire size for the truck itself. So the edge will have a correct speed reading but your truck's speedometer and odometer will be off still

2011 CCSB, AFE Intake, 5" TBE, BD Iron horn s366/80 0.91, EFI Live from Breakout Tuning with CSP5, BD EGR Delete, BD Steering Stabilizer
mtondat is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to mtondat For This Useful Post:
nuljas23 (11-13-2019)
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 10:26 AM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Thanks: 41
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I used the Superchips Flashcal on my 2012 with EFI tunes. No problems at all.

2012 3500 Laramie Mega SRW 4x4, CPS Emissions Intact Spade Tuner, Thuren 2 Coils, Thuren Track Bar, King 2.0 IFP Shocks, AEV Salta HD Wheels, Toyo RT 35s
magnetic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome