Amp draw on Aux switches - Page 2 - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Non-Powertrain Discussion of Accessories, Interior, everything not power related...NO ADVERTISING

 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:32 PM
Diesel Freak
 
Don_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: On the road - Home base Livingston TX
Posts: 674
Thanks: 144
Thanked 88 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
I found a spec sheet, and max amp draw is 68.6A, so you will need to have an additional solenoid to provide the power required. May as well just use a 10A fuse on that aux switch.

https://www.arb.com.au/assets/air-lockers/6-07.pdf
Good catch, I looked but didnít find the document. I have it now. OP get yourself a good relay and some 10AWG or bigger wire and use an aux switch to control it. You will be good to go after that.


2019 Ram 3500 Crew Cab Long Bed
Don_T is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Don_T For This Useful Post:
tankerpilot01 (04-04-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
tankerpilot01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: IA
Posts: 193
Thanks: 68
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
The OE system already has a relay, so if the amp draw is within the OE spec then no additional relay/solenoid is required.



I would say use a relay/solenoid if it was just the switch passing the current, but it's not.



That being said, it looks like the amp draw is not 28A peak, but rather 28A minimum.







I found a spec sheet, and max amp draw is 68.6A, so you will need to have an additional solenoid to provide the power required. May as well just use a 10A fuse on that aux switch.



https://www.arb.com.au/assets/air-lockers/6-07.pdf


Thanks all! So a new solenoid rated for say 70A to provide the power to compressors; then just use the AUX switch to actuate it essentially


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rat
-----------
2018 3500 Limited Tungsten 4x4 Dually-True Blue Pearl - CC - 8'
tankerpilot01 is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
tankerpilot01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: IA
Posts: 193
Thanks: 68
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
The OE system already has a relay, so if the amp draw is within the OE spec then no additional relay/solenoid is required.



I would say use a relay/solenoid if it was just the switch passing the current, but it's not.



That being said, it looks like the amp draw is not 28A peak, but rather 28A minimum.







I found a spec sheet, and max amp draw is 68.6A, so you will need to have an additional solenoid to provide the power required. May as well just use a 10A fuse on that aux switch.



https://www.arb.com.au/assets/air-lockers/6-07.pdf


Oh: good find! I couldnít find that much detail with the amp draws at various loads. Thanks!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rat
-----------
2018 3500 Limited Tungsten 4x4 Dually-True Blue Pearl - CC - 8'
tankerpilot01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fanatic
 
tankerpilot01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: IA
Posts: 193
Thanks: 68
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy N. View Post
Relays and solenoids are cheap. Please use one.


Iím hopeful the shop doing my install (ARB dealer) knows what theyíre doing; but I like to educate myself so I can: ďtrust, but verify!Ē

So 10 gauge wire from battery feeding a relay/solenoid (are both required? Or the terms being used interchangeably)? Then to ARB dual compressor unit (with a fuse of course); so knowing 68A max draw; do you use a 70A fuse? I assume then the solenoid/relay then have to be appropriately rated for that current draw too. Then you use the AUX switch to trip the relay/solenoid; which thus turns on the compressors.

Been 25 years since my electronics class in high school!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rat
-----------
2018 3500 Limited Tungsten 4x4 Dually-True Blue Pearl - CC - 8'
tankerpilot01 is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 10:17 PM
COFFMAN CUSTOMS
 
AH64ID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 10,331
Thanks: 527
Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tankerpilot01 View Post
Thanks all! So a new solenoid rated for say 70A to provide the power to compressors; then just use the AUX switch to actuate it essentially


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Exactly. That's how I'll be using my Aux switches for my winch solenoid.
tankerpilot01 likes this.

2018 Ram 3500 Laramie CC LB
6.7, Aisin, Auto-Level
AH64ID is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to AH64ID For This Useful Post:
tankerpilot01 (04-04-2019)
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 10:59 PM
Diesel Head
 
Jimmy N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The actual Midwest
Posts: 7,567
Thanks: 250
Thanked 409 Times in 377 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
The OE system already has a relay, so if the amp draw is within the OE spec then no additional relay/solenoid is required.

I found a spec sheet, and max amp draw is 68.6A, so you will need to have an additional solenoid to provide the power required.
Looks like you summed it up in one post. But even if the OE relay would technically handle the draw, I'd rather use it to power my own external solenoid, that's easily replaceable.

Maybe if we start telling people that the brain is an app, they will start using it?

'14 1500 V6, '17 3500 C&C, plus a '19 3500 6.4 in the household.
Jimmy N. is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-04-2019, 11:30 PM
COFFMAN CUSTOMS
 
AH64ID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 10,331
Thanks: 527
Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy N. View Post
But even if the OE relay would technically handle the draw, I'd rather use it to power my own external solenoid, that's easily replaceable.
The OE aux switch setup has its own fuse/relay box. They are very easily replaceable.

Within the OE fuse sizing it’s a very well thought out system.

2018 Ram 3500 Laramie CC LB
6.7, Aisin, Auto-Level
AH64ID is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-05-2019, 10:47 AM
Diesel Head
 
Jimmy N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The actual Midwest
Posts: 7,567
Thanks: 250
Thanked 409 Times in 377 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
The OE aux switch setup has its own fuse/relay box. They are very easily replaceable.

Within the OE fuse sizing itís a very well thought out system.
I'm not arguing that. But to me, having a separate solenoid doing the hard work, one that can be bought just about anywhere, is still more appealing.
And it could be easily made to turn on and off, should the aux switch system decide not to function.

Maybe if we start telling people that the brain is an app, they will start using it?

'14 1500 V6, '17 3500 C&C, plus a '19 3500 6.4 in the household.
Jimmy N. is offline  
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-05-2019, 11:03 AM
COFFMAN CUSTOMS
 
AH64ID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 10,331
Thanks: 527
Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy N. View Post

I'm not arguing that. But to me, having a separate solenoid doing the hard work, one that can be bought just about anywhere, is still more appealing.
And it could be easily made to turn on and off, should the aux switch system decide not to function.
Pretty sure that they are standard automotive relays that can be bought anywhere.

Yes harder to bypass, but if the aux switches all quit working you have bigger problems than just the aux switches... you likely have a computer issues that will effects lots of other things.


Why clutter crap up underhood if you don't have to? That's one of the best benefits to the aux switches. If you want to run your own relays/solenoids for things that have a 40A or less requirement then don't bother with aux switches.
AH64ID is offline  
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-05-2019, 11:08 AM
COFFMAN CUSTOMS
 
AH64ID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 10,331
Thanks: 527
Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,035 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy N. View Post

I'm not arguing that. But to me, having a separate solenoid doing the hard work, one that can be bought just about anywhere, is still more appealing.
And it could be easily made to turn on and off, should the aux switch system decide not to function.
Pretty sure that they are standard automotive relays that can be bought anywhere, and they are plenty capable for a 40A circuit. Think about your fuel heaters, seat warmers, etc... There are lots of 30/40A circuits already on the truck with OE relays doing the "hard" work are you going to rewire them?

Yes harder to bypass, but if the aux switches all quit working you have bigger problems than just the aux switches... you likely have a computer issues that will effects lots of other things.


Why clutter crap up underhood if you don't have to? That's one of the best benefits to the aux switches. If you want to run your own relays/solenoids for things that have a 40A or less requirement then don't bother with aux switches.

2018 Ram 3500 Laramie CC LB
6.7, Aisin, Auto-Level
AH64ID is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-05-2019, 11:15 AM
Diesel Head
 
Jimmy N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The actual Midwest
Posts: 7,567
Thanks: 250
Thanked 409 Times in 377 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AH64ID View Post
Why clutter crap up underhood if you don't have to? That's one of the best benefits to the aux switches. If you want to run your own relays/solenoids for things that have a 40A or less requirement then don't bother with aux switches.
I wouldn't clutter anything up under the hood. Instead I'd mount the solenoid close to the power consumer, where it's supposed to be, and only run a small primary wire from the connector to the solenoid.

Yes, I use a couple of my aux. switches for low-draw applications, but have also installed a couple of other switches, to run some of the VSIM functions.
Sure, I could've used the Aux switches, but ended up with less wiring under the hood that way, and nothing new going through the firewall.

Maybe if we start telling people that the brain is an app, they will start using it?

'14 1500 V6, '17 3500 C&C, plus a '19 3500 6.4 in the household.
Jimmy N. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auxiliary switches successfully added to a 2014 Tradesman M Penwald 2013-2018 General Discussion 204 03-06-2019 04:59 PM
Fuel Tank Sump vs Draw Straw combst1994 98.5-02 Powertrain 6 02-06-2016 12:13 PM
02 cummins battery draw Nathaniel_Bacon101 98.5-02 Non-Powertrain 6 01-05-2016 06:48 AM
2011 Radio Power draw question Sachelopilot 4th Gen Non-Powertrain 1 11-10-2015 06:51 PM
sPOD, OTRATTW Switches & Custom Switch Panel - INSTALLED Hoss TX 2010-2012 General Discussion 35 01-14-2015 04:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome