No heat on drivers side? - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Non-Powertrain Discussion of Accessories, Interior, everything not power related...NO ADVERTISING

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 314
Thanks: 104
Thanked 48 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No heat on drivers side?

So winter has set in and I have noticed that the drivers side air is not getting hot. It gets sort of warm, but not hot. Doesnt seem to matter what vents I have it blowing out of. The passengers side is still working like it should. So I figure I have a door broken somewhere. Does anyone know which door on the evap box controls the duel climate control? Has anyone had this problem and managed a fix? Dont mind pulling the dash, but really dont want to have to pull the entire box and have to recharge my ac. Thanks.


2011- Totaled. 2013 Laramie Megacab. 3.42's. +18 OS 20x9 MB Wheels with 35" Cooper STT Pro's. 24" Rough Country Light Bar between the hooks. Viair on board air system w/ Air Horns.
bikerman806 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
FasterThanATicket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: augusta, ks
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did you ever figure out your problem? I’m also having the same issues.

2015 3500 limited deleted MM3 tuning by double R diesel, 5Ētbe, fleece 63mm vgt cheetah, 4Ē topgun customs lift, custom welding bed
FasterThanATicket is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
did you find a resolution to your lack of heat on the driver's side? mine is exhibiting the same symptoms. 2013 2500 laramie with automatic temp control/uconnect 8.4
JStewart839 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 10:01 AM
Cummins Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 314
Thanks: 24
Thanked 33 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Itís gonna be the blend door actuator motor thatís all the way up by the firewall. Mine did this same thing.

My dealer wanted $1200 to do the job. Itís a $30 part. So I tackled it myself. Thereís some YouTube videos out there in it thatíll help.

You have to pull the dash out to fix it. Dealer says you have to unhook ac lines to get it out, but itís possible to do without all that. Itís a major pain to replace but itís very possible with half a day and some hand tools and a lot of patience.
WTFab is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by WTFab View Post
Itís gonna be the blend door actuator motor thatís all the way up by the firewall. Mine did this same thing.

My dealer wanted $1200 to do the job. Itís a $30 part. So I tackled it myself. Thereís some YouTube videos out there in it thatíll help.

You have to pull the dash out to fix it. Dealer says you have to unhook ac lines to get it out, but itís possible to do without all that. Itís a major pain to replace but itís very possible with half a day and some hand tools and a lot of patience.
Thanks for the reply!

as looking at the image, would this be what is labeled as the recirculation door actuator? or would it be the left temperature actuator? So far this summer, we've had no problem with getting heat. but there has been no problem cooling at all.
Attached Images
 
JStewart839 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did you ever get this fixed? I'm getting ready to tackle mine as the snow is threatening already..
RobMo is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-09-2019, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I haven't fixed it yet, but i did locate the cause of the lack of heat and air flow. It turns out that the evaporator core and heater core are plugged with dirt. Removing the blower motor and putting a scope in revealed the issue. So, it turns out i will be removing the dash and HVAC box to replace these items and installing a cabin filter when it goes back together. what i don't understand, i've been driving pickups for ever, none of them have ever had a cabin filter and i've never had this issue with any of them. i wonder why this style of pickup has the issue of sucking all this dirt in. Hope everyone else has their heat working!
JStewart839 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2020, 03:22 AM
Cummins Enthusiast
 
Hall00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brazoria County, TX
Posts: 258
Thanks: 11
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just move to South Texas. The winter sun and seat heaters are enough 99% of the time and MUCH better of an idea than pulling the dash 😂

2013 2500 68RE, deleted w/ EFI Live, CTS2 monitor
Hall00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome