Factory Equipped Goose Neck Cross Member - Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum
4th Gen Cab & Chassis Discussion of performance, powertrain, and non-powertrain on Cab & Chassis Trucks....NO ADVERTISING

5Likes
  • 1 Post By Jimmy N.
  • 1 Post By EricPeterson
  • 1 Post By Jimmy N.
  • 2 Post By frogsaw

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
Cummins Fan

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Factory Equipped Goose Neck Cross Member

Hello all,

As an engineer, I understand that a lot goes into the design of a truck's frame, and at this point I am only exercising my curiosity... With that said, I have a 2014 Ram 3500, Crew Cab, Long Bed, DRW, with the 6.7 Cummins and Aisin Transmission. I am looking to replace the bed with a flatbed, and I am running into an issue with the cross member that the manufacturer provided to provide the "Factory Equipped Goose Neck". Apparently none or just none of the bed manufacturers that I have looked at to this new cross member into account with their bed designs. Because of this, both the flatbed and the truck frame have to be modified slightly to allow installation, but even then the bed sets higher than desired/intended. The bed provides the goose neck hitch, making the factory equipped one unnecessary/un-needed. I am curious to know if anyone has deleted this cross member, and if so, what was the outcome?

Thanks in advance,

James

2001 5.9L Cummins w/ Auto Transmission - Banks Big Hoss Tuner and Power Pack System, ATS 4000 Turbo, ATS BigFoot Exhaust Manifold and Pacbrake.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 12:23 PM

are you talking about this piece in this picture

https://www.moparwholesaleparts.com/...saAvf7EALw_wcB

then it can be unbolted with out an issue. Any parts welded to the frame shouldn't be cut off.

2018 Ram 2500 SLT with G56
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Cummins Fan