Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum

Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum (https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/)
-   3rd Gen. Non-Powertrain (https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/3rd-gen-non-powertrain/)
-   -   Anti-gel (https://www.cumminsforum.com/forum/3rd-gen-non-powertrain/2509025-anti-gel.html)

Adrien34 08-20-2019 01:45 AM

I'm not new to the diesel world, however I'm new to it in an area that gets 20-30 below, with no problem. I've done some research and found that there are a million different additives that all claim to be the best. From what you guys have used, what is the best option, in your opinion, for anti-gel additives to keep your fuel flowing?

Jimmy N. 08-20-2019 11:08 AM

I've had good luck with Howes and Power Service.

MDSWA 08-20-2019 11:24 AM

I use Power Service Diesel Kleen. Gray bottle in the summer, white bottle in winter and a spare bottle of PS 911 in the truck for emergencies. I've also used Optilube but it's a bit more expensive.

Millertime21 08-20-2019 11:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MDSWA (Post 29065119)
I use Power Service Diesel Kleen. Gray bottle in the summer, white bottle in winter and a spare bottle of PS 911 in the truck for emergencies. I've also used Optilube but it's a bit more expensive.

Same here. Coldest day last winter was -25f and the truck started with ease.

Grit dog 08-20-2019 07:50 PM

You don't need any anti-gel if you are buying fuel in the region where those temperatures are normal/expected. Winter fuel is treated for the area.
There are exceptions, but they're rare.